Sunday, July 21, 2024
Home Top Stories ECP declares results of 251 of 270 NA seats; Imran Khan's PTI...

ECP declares results of 251 of 270 NA seats; Imran Khan's PTI leads with 110

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has released provisional results of 251 out of 270 National Assembly (NA) seats that were polled on July 25 across the country.

According to the results, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading the NA tally with 110 NA seats. Trailing is the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) with 63 and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) with 42 seats.

There are a total of 12 independents in the NA so far as well.

Moreover, the alliance of religious parties, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA), bagged 10 seats while the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid got five seats.
The Balochistan National Party (BNP), Sindh’s Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) won two seats each.
Similarly, the Awami Muslim League led by PTI-allied Sheikh Rasheed, Awami National Party (ANP) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaniyat got one seat each.

ECP figures of the results released so far. 


The National Assembly seats whose results are yet to be announced by the ECP are: NA-32 (Kohat), NA-37 (Tank), NA-48 (North Waziristan), NA-56 (Attock 2), NA-115 (Jhang 2), NA-125 (Lahore 3), NA-126 (Lahore 4), NA-237 (Malir 2), NA-243 (Karachi East 2), NA-248 (Karachi West 1), NA-251 (Karachi West 4), NA-253 (Karachi Central 1), NA-254 (Karachi Central 2), NA-256 (Karachi Central 4), NA-258 (Loralai/Musakhel/Ziarat/Dukki/Harnai), NA-259 (Dera Bugti/Kohlu/Barkhan/Sibi/Lehri), NA-260(Nasirabad/Kachhi/Jhal Magsi ), NA-267 (Mastung/Kalat/Shaheed Sikandarabad), NA-269 (Khuzdar), NA-270 (Panjgur/Washuk/Awaran) and NA-271 (Kech).

The July 25 election also witnessed major upsets for political heavyweights.

Punjab Assembly

In the Punjab Assembly, as per the ECP’s results of 289 out of 295 total seats, the PML-N bagged 127 and PTI 118 seat.

The PML-Q won seven seats, PPP six and the PML-Functional, Balochistan Awami Party and Pakistan Awami Raj one each.

Independents elected to the provincial assembly stand at 27.

Sindh Assembly

In the Sindh Assembly, from results of 118 out of 129 seats, the PPP continued its majority with 71 seats while the PTI managed to get 20, MQM-P 12 and GDA 11 seats, respectively.
Moreover, the Tabdeeli Pasand Party Pakistan, MMA and Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan won a seat each, as did an independent candidate.

The recently-formed Pak Sarzameen Party which comprised of MQM-P defectors led by former Karachi mayor Mustafa Kamal, failed to win a single seat in the provincial assembly.

KP Assembly

For the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, the ECP declared results of 96 out of 98 seats where the PTI has managed a majority by bagging 66 seats.
The MMA has won 10 seats while the PML-N and ANP got five seats each.
The PPP only won four seats in the province while five independents also made it to the provincial assembly.

Balochistan Assembly 

The ECP has declared results of 45 Balochistan Assembly seats out of its total of 50.
The newly-formed Balochistan Awami Party bagged 13 seats, after which the MMA stands at second place presently with eight seats.
The BNP won five seats while the PTI won four seats, whereas the BNP-Awami got three seats. ,
Similarly, the ANP and Hazara Democratic Party got two seats each, and the PML-N, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party and Jamote Qaumi Movement one seat each.

A total of five candidates have also been elected as independents.

Election Day

Millions of Pakistanis stepped out to cast their ballot in Wednesday’s election, including women in areas where they previously stood disenfranchised.
Polling began at 8AM across the country’s 85,307 polling stations and continued until 6PM, despite calls by several major parties, including PML-N, PPP and PTI, to extend the polling time by an hour.
The parties had complained of “a slow voting process” and thus sought more time to facilitate voters — a request that was dismissed by the ECP.
The election campaign was marred by violence with three candidates killed in targetted attacks in the run-up to the polls, and culminated with a suicide blast outside a polling station in Quetta which claimed at least 31 lives.
As many as 12,570 candidates contested for a total of 849 seats of national and provincial assemblies in the country’s 11th General Election.